there is one, there is one.

Last August I started the prayer journal that I am still using; lately I’ve been re-reading what I wrote a year ago and it is incredible for me to see how richly God has filled the pleas I placed before Him. I am struck by how all throughout this year He has drawn me to different places, but always placed me firmly in the midst of people who have helped to nurture and support the love for Him that has been growing inside of me. These past four months have been exactly that. Papa Elias and Mama Tere are both extraordinary pastors, their son Obed is one of the wisest men I know, Estela is my closest friend here and an incredible, holy, strong, beautiful, wise woman. The girls that live in this house with me are like sisters, and they love Him. I could go on.

At the beginning of this month while we were at the beach Obed caught me alone with my Bible during dinner one night and asked why I wasn’t eating. I had started fasting dinners on the first of August, for something important and personal and I explained that to him. I didn’t think much more of that interaction with him until last week, when we were all together to talk announcements and such, and he started talking to everyone about how he was inviting us to fast with him that coming weekend for an important friend of ours. He said, “and that friend is Brittany” and he explained how those who wanted to would be fasting breakfast and lunch on both Friday and Saturday, and that we would break the fast with dinners both nights. Then he asked who wanted to join him, and almost every single person raised their hand. That’s a lot of people willing to go hungry two days in a row for me: talk about feeling loved and supported.  So we did it. Obed, Lucia, the older girls and I were putting on a Vacation Bible School in a poor community not too far from here, it was hot and tiring and we were hungry, but we fasted together for my intention. It was beautiful.

Today Citlali told me that she’s continuing that fast for a week, that it’s something she decided in her own heart. She has a toddler to take care of, she has to be with us during meals to make sure Katia is putting more food in her mouth than on her face, she has her chores, her school, but she’s going hungry all week in order to focus her prayers on the same thing that mine are focused on.  Amazing.

God is faithful to us, I think that’s the point of this blog. I’ve been away from home for awhile now, but He has been faithful to provide me with all of the love and support that I need, both through Him and through the people He places around me. I love that.

Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth. Worship the LORD with gladness, come before Him with joyful songs, Know that the LORD is God. It is He who made us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture. Enter His gates with thanksgiving, and His courts with praise; give thanks to Him and praise His name. For the LORD is good and His love endures forever; His faithfulness continues through all generations.”

Psalm 100

Leave a comment