10

Written: January 10th 2019

Ten years ago today I visited this Children’s Home where I live: Casa Hogar Alfa & Omega, for the very first time. I thought this place and these children would occupy one week of my life, instead they quickly took up residence in my whole heart and now occupy my whole life. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

casahogar4

Ten years ago I had no idea that all these years later Cecilia would still be hugging me tight, except now I can actually speak her language. I had no idea ten years ago that the skinny bass player in the worship band would eventually become my husband and that one day we would be leading worship here together. I had no idea then that the orphanage directors I admired so much would come to love me fiercely too, and would eventually welcome me with pure joy as their daughter-in-law. Ten years ago I didn’t know this place would become my home, these people would become my family, but that’s exactly what happened.

In these ten years my heart has been crushed and restored more times than I can count. I became a mother. I have loved child after child after child. It has been brutal and it has been beautiful, every single time.

408.JPG

193.JPG

233.JPG

009.JPG

DSC08122.JPG

dsc06500

IMG_0397.JPG

IMG_2268.JPG

IMG_3513.JPG

71.JPG

img_3706

I will always be amazed by this. I will always be amazed by this God who plucked an 18 year old me out of Minnesota to fall in love not only with these children but to fall absolutely in love with Him. He has been the greatest gift of all.

IMG_6029.JPG

One thought on “10

  1. mi hija Brittany,

    I loved this!!! I hardly ever check my email, so if you send me something, please let me know. I have like 60,000 emails in this account, even though I have set quite a few filters that are supposed to only keep the lastest message from a bunch of different companies. So much mail I never read from the international Aglow office, international Lions office, health emails, etc. I don’t do much better at looking at my gmail either. That address is purpleheather501@gmail.com

    Love you!!!!

    your mama….

    Heather L. Brittain

    ________________________________

Leave a comment